Dryfesdale Lodge and Visitor Center
Today, The Dryfesdale Lodge Visitor Centre serves as a memorial center for the lives lost as a result of the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103. The history of the Lodge shows that it has been a significant place in Lockerbie and is still so to this day.
The Lodge was built in 1880 as a home for the cemetery caretaker, which was part of Dryfesdale Parish. From 1880 onwards it was used as a home.
In 2002, the Dryfesdale Lodge and Visitor Center Trust was formed by a group of volunteers with the goal of refurbishing the Lodge building and form a visitor center for those who came to see the Garden of Remembrance and to have further memorization of the victims of Pan Am Flight 103. The refurbishment of the Lodge was made possible, in part, due to support from Lockerbie Trust and Dumfries and Galloway Council.
On the 25th of October, 2003, The Dyfesdale Lodge Visitor Centre officially opened with continued support from Dumfries and Galloway Council, as well as donations from local businesses and visitors.
Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Lodge building had to close in 2020 to the public, and online platforms such as virtual tours, Instagram, and a website were established in order to allow people to experience the Lodge still, even if it was not physically open.
In 2021, with generous support from Lockerbie Trust, the windows of the Lodge were able to be replaced. During this time the Lodge also formed a connection with Syracuse University, which lost 35 students in the bombing. Through this link with the university and their archives, we have been able to further our goals of memorialization by working with both students and families in areas such as digital media development and research.
Dryfesdale Lodge Visitor Centre is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation (SCIO), SC051468, regulated by the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR).